June 27, 1927: “my birth day”

Monday 27 A beautiful day + my birth day. I am sixty eight years old. It looks strange as I write it. Soon the place that knew me once will know me no more for ever. No one seems to notice or feel interested but myself. That is the price on has to pay for growing old. I have no old friends + no one near me who speaks my language. Edith is talking of going to ride after dinner but I dont imagine Clarence will want to go. 430 We did not go to ride. Martha Barriss came in remembering it was my birthday + brought me her photograph. with her signature. I was greatly surprised I have not seen her for so long I had not expected to again. You never can tell. Am not feeling so well the last two or three days + am very nervous.


NOTES + EXPLANATIONS

coming soon…


On this day in history: June 27, 1927 (Monday)
  • Led by Prime Minister Tanaka Giichi, the “Far Eastern Conference” was convened in Tokyo. Over a period of ten days, Japan’s military and political leaders discussed long range strategy for the conquest of China,[58] and possibly the world. A report was made to the Emperor following the conference, and in 1929, the “Tanaka Memorial“, purporting to be a leaked copy of the secret document, was published. The Tanaka Memorial, whose authenticity has been questioned, described plans for Japanese control of the Pacific Ocean, including conquest of the western United States, Australia and New Zealand.[59]

(source: Wiki)


ORIGINAL DIARY PAGES:

© Mariana Pickering and Gnarly Roots, 2015.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material (including photos) without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Mariana Pickering and Gnarly Roots with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a comment