February 26, 1927: “a boy is such a noisy creature”

Saturday the twenty sixth
Cloudy + windy Edith went out in the car + did her shopping. Brought home new medicine, have taken some + think its going to help me, I pray that it may. I dont want to die because I think I’m needed here some new people moved into the Ell a man + his wife + a little boy. Awfully sorry a boy is such a noisy creature. Read aloud + went to bed feeling better.


NOTES + EXPLANATIONS

New medicine, feeling needed, good, good. Things are looking up. I’d still love to know what the medicine is for.

There’s a bit of handwriting that I can’t make out – “some new people moved into the ???”. Readers, any suggestions? Alley?  If you’re dumb like me and did’t know what an “ell” was… let me help:

ell (noun)
an extension at the end and at right angles to the main building

So, does this mean an extension of their building? Interesting. Is this a hint that confirms they were tenants in a shared building?

I’d like to point out that Annie was the only surviving child of her parents, Edith is Annie’s only child, and Audrey is Edith’s only child… all girls. So she may have a bit of a bias in her characterization of boys. Although. She has a point. 🙂


ORIGINAL DIARY PAGES:

© Mariana Pickering and Gnarly Roots, 2015.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material (including photos) without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Mariana Pickering and Gnarly Roots with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

5 thoughts on “February 26, 1927: “a boy is such a noisy creature”

  1. Al says:

    Still “ell” an odd way of saying next door? I’m wondering if one apartment wraps around the other??? Anyhow, I guess that’s why she hasn’t been talking about the neighbors!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

