February 7, 1927: “poor silly child”

Monday the seventh
A beautiful day. Mrs Baldwin + Ramona came in a little while. poor Ramona poor silly child. I am so sorry for her.
Nothing happened worth writing about read aloud from Rebecca of Sunny Brook Farm Clarence came home saying he had stomach trouble + must go on a diet, but he wont do it I know. more trouble for us I expect.


NOTES + EXPLANATIONS

Uh oh. What did Ramona do?! I suspect it had to do with a boy. Let me see what more I can discover about these Baldwins. 

update: So I was right! It DOES have to do with a boy. I’m not sure I should give away the plot that will unfold, though! Let’s just say that census records indicate that Ramona Baldwin, at this point in February 1927, is in a little bit of a pickle. That pickle should pop out any day now…

Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm is of course a classic. But I suspect it spoke to this family even more because it was based in a fictional town in Maine.


ORIGINAL DIARY PAGES:

1927.02.07-09 - Annie F Morris diary


© Mariana Pickering and Gnarly Roots, 2015.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material (including photos) without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Mariana Pickering and Gnarly Roots with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

One thought on “February 7, 1927: “poor silly child”

Leave a Reply

