January 30, 1927: “snatched away”

Sunday 30th Dull + rainy. Did not get my Sunday forenoon nap had to rise earlier so Edith + Clarence could go to Salem. Had no chance to read or “invite my soul” Audrea was nervous + followed me every where, but was very good. They found the Salem friends trying very hard to be brave + that only makes it more pathetic. At times Fred does not seem to be quite himself, thinks he sees Mattie everywhere. It gives one a feeling of unrealness + as if it was not of much use making plane. It hard to think your dear one can be snatched away from you like that.


Please excuse the delay! I set this weekend’s entries to automatically publish, but clearly I didn’t do it correctly. Investigation under way.


 

NOTES + EXPLANATIONS

“Invite my soul”, I believe is referring to a poem by Walt Whitman called “Song of Myself”. It begins like this:

I celebrate myself, and sing myself,
And what I assume you shall assume,
For every atom belonging to me as good belongs to you.

I loafe and invite my soul,
I lean and loafe at my ease observing a spear of summer grass.
I won’t put the entire text, as it is very long, but you can read the full version at Poetry Foundation’s website.
She basically is lamenting that she had no time to idle about “observing a spear of summer grass”, or some other similar activity. It was a busy day.
Sounds like the Parker Family is understandably still trying to adjust to their recent loss.

ORIGINAL DIARY PAGES:

1927.01.29-30 - Annie F Morris diary


© Mariana Pickering and Gnarly Roots, 2015.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material (including photos) without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Mariana Pickering and Gnarly Roots with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

