January 27, 1927: “if only I could get out”

Thursday the twenty seventh.
A bright + beautiful day + I am thankful to say some what warmer. In some ways I am a little better but so nervous. If I could only get out, but that is impossible. I that when I got money I could do so much for my self but I cant do anything I had planned on.


Notes + Explanations

Ok, so now I’m really curious about what ails Annie so much that she can’t leave the house. And why would money change that?

As a side note, I thought I would make a small note on the weather report that Annie starts with each day. While her assessments were likely to have taken place regardless, I thought you might be interested to know that 1927 was actually a very strange year for weather in Boston.

According to the book I’m reading, “One Summer: America 1927”, this was actually one of the rainiest and gloomiest periods of weather in American history:

“Between the late summer of 1926 and the following spring, enough precipitation fell on the forty-eight United States, by one calculation, to make a cube of water 250 miles across on each side.” (Kindle Location 826)

So Annie is not at all being dramatic in saying that a little bit of sun is a lot to be thankful for. 


Original Diary Pages:

1927.01.26-27 - Annie F Morris diary


© Mariana Pickering and Gnarly Roots, 2015.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material (including photos) without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Mariana Pickering and Gnarly Roots with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

